Dealing with a New York DMV License Suspension
New York Traffic Tickets Must Be Dealt With...or Else!
Regardless of the circumstances, eventually, every ticket must be dealt with or else they will hold your operating privileges hostage. There are national and federal databases of information where all of your infractions are recorded. The states share moving violations, lapses in insurance coverage, license action, and registration freely in order to prevent terrorism and to raise revenues (yeah, money!).
In the case of New York State traffic tickets, if you don't show up or answer the Court, then it will be reported to the Albany DMV. Albany then sends out a letter telling you (notifying you) "hey-you gotta handle this ticket or else your privileges to drive will be suspended!" If you are from out-of-state (have an out-of-state driver's license) your state DMV will eventually receive notice and it is possible that you could be suspended in your home state as well.
You have a window of opportunity at that point to handle the ticket before the suspension goes into effect. Typically, this time period runs 4 to 6 weeks. That is normally enough time to hire a lawyer or get to court yourself.
If you Pass the window of opportunity, and your license is suspended, then you must still handle the ticket and also pay a suspension lift fee. Current NYS suspension lift fee is $70.
DMV NOTICE OF DRIVER LICENSE OR DRIVING PRIVILEGE SUSPENSION
This is an excerpt from a DMV suspension letter:
“The Department of Motor Vehicles has been notified by the court shown below that, for a period of at least sixty (60) days from the return date, the last adjournment date, or the date of the fine/surcharge imposed by the court was due, you failed to appear or to pay the fine/surcharge. Section 510 (4-a) of the New York Vehicle and Traffic Law authorizes the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles to suspend the driver license or driving privilege of anyone who does not appear in court or pay a fine/surcharge when required to do so.
To avoid suspension of your driver license, it is recommended that you respond to this notice 7 days prior to the suspension date. We suggest you keep the motorist copy for at least 6 months from the date you answer the ticket or pay fine/surcharge. “
If you have questions about a ticket or suspension, call us: 607-229-5184